Dear Houston

Dear Houston,

You shine bright.  You are hopeful.  You are united.

Thank you for being my home.  Thank you for taking me places and holding countless years of memories.

Thank you to the southern hospitality that never gets old.  The chick-fil-a that always gets my order and quickly responds with “my pleasure”.

With sorrow in my soul, I write this.  I am so deeply saddened to see the destruction that has swept across this city.  BUT, there is hope. (Hebrews 6:19)

To those I have never met and to the loved ones I hold dear, you are Houston.  We are Houston, and this is not the end.

Hurricane Harvey saw the strength in us and *attempted* to devour it…but, it cannot.  Spoiler alert: Houston is strong.

We will rebuilt.  This will be redeemed.  This is not the end.  This only adds to the story.  This adds to our strength. (The Lord rebuilt countless times in the Bible and He continues to–Jeremiah 31, Isaiah 51:3).

Jeremiah 31:4, “I will build you up again, and you, Virgin Israel, will be rebuilt. Again you will take up your timbrels and go out to dance with the joyful.”

Hurricane Harvey was supposed to destroy us, but it will only make us stronger.

Love,

your Houstonian

download

How you can help

Leave a comment